I am… (Part 1)

Hellooooo beautiful people! I hope everyone got to pamper themselves and rest a bunch this weekend!

Today, we’ll be talking about affirmations. I use affirmations every day when I notice that my self talk is entering a dangerous and toxic place.

How often do you repeat to yourself “I’m so tired, I’m so tired, I’m so tired.” or “I’m so fat, I’m so fat, I’m so fat.” The more you replay these disempowering messages in your mind, the more it’ll come true. Do you magically feel energized after telling yourself  “I’m so tired” around a dozen times? Sometimes, I actually feel myself lose any existing energy when I say that. This is where affirmations come into play.

“Affirmations are positive, specific statements that help you to overcome self-sabotaging, negative thoughts. They help you visualize, and believe in, what you’re affirming to yourself, helping you to make positive changes to your life and career.” -mind tools

I use affirmations to change my negative self talk. Instead of filling my mind with self loathing thoughts, I tell myself that I can do anything I want in life. I remind myself of how amazing I am because we all need that reminder every now and then!

Affirmations, like anything else, take practice and experimentation before they really work. Some types of affirmations don’t work for every person- and that’s okay! The key point is to learn which types work for you and which don’t.

Because affirmations are a lot to take in, we’ll end this short post today! Tomorrow, I’ll talk about why affirmations don’t always work and what you can do in place of affirmations in those situations. I’ll also give you a list of affirmations that I personally love!

Reference:

https://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/affirmations.htm (Check this out because it’s really helpful in explaining affirmations more!)

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

