Let’s Get Real

Hello friends.

*I’m giving a slight trigger warning because we’re talking about invisible illness today*

Today I’m going to get real with y’all. We’re going to talk about mental and invisible illnesses and being a social worker and activist.

Whether it’s depression, an eating disorder, schizophrenia, an autoimmune disorder, anxiety disorder, and/or many more… self care is vital.

Though I have this self care blog, I had been slacking in practicing for a few weeks. And the result was not nice one bit. I went back to a low state in my depression and I’ve been working on getting through it in one piece.

Here are some things that I’ve been doing to make sure I’m taking care of myself during this time:

  1. I’m getting more rest and sleep. I try being in bed by 9:30 and waking up at 8. It’s usually 7 and I stay in bed to get some extra rest. I also take 1-2 naps if I can.
    • I do realize though that this isn’t feasible for everyone so my biggest suggestion is to get to sleep earlier.
  2. I’m working on treating these next few weeks as a cold. I want to slowly get back into routine, but I can’t expect myself to be functioning at my best. If I do that (which I was), then I’ll feel defeatist and my self talk will most likely worsen.
  3. I’m making sure that I have all of my basic needs met- that I’m eating properly or properly enough, that I’m sleeping enough, that I’m drinking enough water, etc.
  4. I’m focusing on my therapy.
    • If you don’t already go to therapy, I suggest going for at least a few sessions. It is extremely beneficial!
  5. Lastly, I’m making sure that I’m spending time with my friends. Good company is one of the most prized treasures I have.

I hope this helps. I’d also like to announce a new change in the blog. I will now be doing posts on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, instead of every weekday! I’ll also be finding other blog posts that I like and sharing them with y’all too!

Thanks for reading and have a relaxing weekend!

healing not linear

Photo: http://anearlymorningwalk.tumblr.com/post/124874335588

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

